Email (username): Password:  
Sign up today!    Forgot Password?

Search : Resource Information

  • Currently 3.00/5

This lesson has been reviewed 1 time.
Sign up and add your review.

Share |

Q T Pi Fashions - Learning About Credit Card Use
Source: Council for Economic Education (EconEdLink) | Type: Lesson

Credit cards are convenient, user friendly, and at times dangerous. In this lesson students learn the joys and dangers of using credit as they help Credit, the main character in this activity, solve her credit problems.

Grades:

Concepts:

Standards:

Related Resources:

Reviews

Great Idea, but numbers incorrect.    April 15, 2010
By: Moore, T
The lesson itself was great! It helped my students learn the real cost of using credit, but some of the numbers are incorrect. I used the lesson, but made my own worksheet.
 

Review from EconEdLink.org August 26, 2004
By: D. Haynes
Thank you for a well-thought out lesson. I will use it for a money management class designed for 7th and 8th graders.
 

Review from EconEdLink.org September 23, 2004
By: Tim G.
Good lesson! I found it to be challenging and very informative for my students.
 

Review from EconEdLink.org February 17, 2005
By: Ted Capkanis
This looks really cool.
 

Review from EconEdLink.org March 1, 2005
By: Antionette Wilcox
Excellent lesson! I even used it for myself.
 

Review from EconEdLink.org October 20, 2006
By: Stefan Dox
It happens that I have a lot of free time, which I devote to my hobbies. I could be reading clauses or looking through photos for hours, but now I spend all my time on your site!
 

Review from EconEdLink.org July 22, 2010
By: Nicole M.
This looks awesome! I am going to try to tailor it to a 1-3 grade class.
 

Review from EconEdLink.org October 12, 2010
By: Kim B.
The lesson is great! I am not sure if it's me or if some of the numbers are off. In the Q T Pi Fashions lesson in June on the first table you have to figure out her payment because she has to pay 10% of her Balance and it is over her normal $100 payment. Looking at the answer key it looks like your 10% ($1108.95 x 10% = $110.90 not $110.93) is off by .03 and it is making the final answer of $998.02 for July off. Also, question #5, the very first payment looks like you have it as $110.16, which needed to be calculated again because it is over her $100 payment but 10% of $1015.98 is $101.60. So, if the first number is off that throws the entire questions off. If I am wrong about this please let me know if not could we possibly fix it? EconEdLink: We have fixed the numbers on both the student and teacher version. Thanks